Knowledge Drop

What's the difference between `add to dashboard` and `save to dashboard` options when creating a tile from a look?

  • 5 April 2021
  • 1 reply
  • 1141 views

Userlevel 5

Last Tested: Mar 15, 2021
 

Add to dashboard adds the look to the dashboard. These are therefore linked, and any changes to the look will update this look-based tile in the dashboard, and changes to the tile will update the look too.

Save to dashboard adds the looks explore query (i.e. lookless tile) to the dashboard. Changes to the look, or to the tile in the dashboards will not effect each the other in this case.

https://docs.looker.com/dashboards/creating-dashboards-beta#adding_query_or_look-linked_tiles_from_a_look

 

This content is subject to limited support.                

 

 


1 reply

Hi Team,

I understand the difference however do you have a use case example where you would have the Look on a dashboard but not update? I’m trying to understand the best way to use this.

TJ

Reply