Knowledge Drop

What happens if you delete the Looker jar, while it is running?

  • 7 July 2021
  • 0 replies
  • 5 views

Userlevel 4

Last tested: Jun 26, 2020
 

If on Linux:

In layman's terms, you're ok. In Linux, files aren't actually deleted if they're still in use. Keep a backup of the jar, just in case, but you should be fine.

Per StackOverflow:

a file isn't really deleted until all applications that have it opened close it. The file will be gone from the directory listing, but it still exists and can be read (and even written!) by any application with a valid file descriptor open.

Per Micah:

When you "rm looker.jar", the kernel is ultimately unlinking that filename from the disk block. The running looker process will have already mapped the file into memory and will still have a reference to it

 

This content is subject to limited support.                

 

 


0 replies

Be the first to reply!

Reply