Best way to concatenate in Looker?

worthywow
Participant II

Hi ! I’m a Looker newbie and have an initial query that would really appreciate any advice on.

I am working with recruitment tables where a job can have multiple locations but the end users want a report with a single row per job. Is it possible (and if so what’s the best way) to concatenate the location “rows” to a single field/row ?

Many thanks in advance for any help and advice.

0 8 7,787
8 REPLIES 8

Hi @worthywow , welcome to Looker!

When I read this type of question, I immediately translate “single row per X” to “X is the (only) dimension in this query”

The question then becomes, how can the rest of the fields be interpreted as measures? Most often, this is just a list measure, though there are other options.

As to how to define a list measure, you can either do that in LookML, or from your explore with custom measures defined at query time. (PS, if your instance is not yet opted-in to use custom fields, I 1000% recommend it)

worthywow
Participant II

Hi Fabio,

The List measure worked perfectly 😀

Really appreciate your support.

Kind regards,

Richard

Ashita
Participant I

The issue with list is that when one tries to download the report then all the characters are separated in different cells and defeats the whole purpose of concatenation in single cell. Please correct this feature. Or else suggest different solution apart from list.

blue1
Participant III

Hi Ashita,

you could create a measure that gets a distinct list of locations for every job and concatenate those using FOR XML Path (tested with Microsoft SQL Server 2016). You can use SQL syntax or Liquid to reference your variables. I have adapted the code to make sense for your use case.

measure: location_concat {
type: string
sql: (
SELECT DISTINCT J.JobCode,
SUBSTRING((
SELECT ‘,’+L.LocationName AS [text()]
FROM dbo.Location L
WHERE L.JobID = ${job.job_id}
ORDER BY L.LocationName
FOR XML PATH (’’)
), 2, 1000) [Locations]