Looker date filter for last year

Beto
Participant II

Hello everyone,

I’m new at looker and while doing some operations i found myself in a positiion where I need to show a comparison between “This year” and “Last Year” sales.

At first I did the following:

measure: ventas_netasAA {
label: "Venta NetaAA"
type: sum
sql: ${venta_neta} ;;
filters: [fecha_year: "last year"]
value_format_name: usd
}

My issue then is that it appears to only work on this “2021” year vs the “2020” but the rest of the data (2019, 2018) is shown as zero. 

My logic is , if the year im trying to compare is 2021 i wanna see past years so switch to “year -1” and then display the aggregate, the issue is that i am not sure on how to do that on LookML.

0 5 3,302
5 REPLIES 5

Naomi_Johnson
Participant III

Hi Beto, 

There are two ways you can do this, to dynamically pick the date.

1. You can use a parameter, which is a filter-only field, which allows you or another user to dynamically choose the year when Exploring the data
parameter: select_year {
type: number
default_value: "2021"
}

measure: sale_in_selected_year {
sql: case when ${created_year} = {% parameter select_year %} then ${sale} end ;;
}

measure: sale_in_previous_year {
sql: case when ${created_year} = {% parameter select_year %}-1 then ${sale} end ;;
}
  1. If you wanted to have more choice on the exact days you want to look at (e.g. last 7 days vs the same days last year), you can choose a templated filter. This is also a filter-only field which allows the user to dynamically choose the dates in the Explore
filter: select_date {
type: date
}

sql: case when {% condition select_date %} ${created_raw} {% endcondition %} then ${sale} end ;;
}

sql: case when {% condition select_date %} dateadd(year,1,${created_raw}) {% endcondition %} then ${sale} end ;;
}

Hope this helps!

Naomi

Beto
Participant II

Thanks Naomi,