Why cannot we find the original file ID or details for any Google Form?

Any Google document, ideally has the file ID in the URL, except for Google Form.  Once  the form is live, the URL changes and gives no way of finding out the original file ID or owner details even as an admin of the domain.  

There is no API or anything that can provide the information and as domain admin, it becomes very hard to find the owner information of a form with the Form URL.  Cannot find any info in the Audit logs either.

Is there any way to find the owner details?  If not, can this be considered as a feature request that can help not just me but a lot of admins like me.

Solved Solved
4 8 4,285
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

As an admin you get the published URL? I am an admin and I see no process that gives me the published URL of any forms unless I am invited to respond on one of them. 

As an admin I can go into the audit logs and find any and all Google Form edit ID's so I haven't yet come across a situation where what you describe is necessary. I do however see a use case for this, in a situation where a Google Form is reported as being inappropriate and I only have a published URL as information to track down the offending Google Form. I would quickly become stuck without doing blanket searches for all Google Forms and trying to narrow down which one was in use.

As @icrew mentioned, your best course of action would be a write up a feature request.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

You might want to post this to the Feature Ideas section here (https://www.googlecloudcommunity.com/gc/Feature-Ideas/gh-p/workspace-ideas-group) so that it can be upvoted by others and possibly considered as a future feature enhancement.