remove the single-property index exemption

I am just getting started with AppEngine and Firestore. I'm using the Google sample code, and getting this error:

The query requires an ASC or DESC index for kind visit and property timestamp. Please use the gcloud CLI to remove the single-property index exemption for this property.

The code is just this:

query = datastore_client.query(kind="visit")

query.order = ["-timestamp"]

When I go to the Query Builder, I can do this query with no problem. But when it's done from the code, I get the error above. (Note that there is no exemption in place.)

What am I missing?

0 12 1,182
12 REPLIES 12

Same issue for me as well. Do we need to explicitly add indexes ?

The error message you are receiving is telling you that you need to create an index on the timestamp property of the visit kind in order to perform a descending sort on that property.

To do this, you can create an index configuration file and deploy it to Datastore using the following steps:

1. Create an index configuration file

indexes:
  - kind: visit
    properties:
    - name: timestamp
      direction: desc

This configuration specifies a descending index on the timestamp property for the visit kind.

2. Deploy the index configuration file

gcloud datastore indexes create index.yaml

This command will create the necessary index based on the configuration in the index.yaml file.

Note: The index building might take some time. You can check the status of the index using the following command:

gcloud datastore indexes list

Why is an index required for this query?

Datastore uses indexes to efficiently execute queries. Without an index, Datastore would have to scan all of the entities in the visit kind to find the ones that match your query. This could be very slow, especially if you have a large number of entities in that kind. Creating an index on the timestamp property allows Datastore to quickly find and sort the entities that match your query.