What Google Cloud product supports high concurrency and provides low latency for Analytical queries?

I am new to Google Cloud Platform, so this is a question for those who have experience with GCP suite of products. I am trying to figure out which Google Cloud product would be the best fit for my needs. Here are the requirements I am trying to meet:

1. Store data in Google Cloud Platform.
2. Support potentially thousands of concurrent users running analytical queries.
3. The data volumes would be moderate (as far as Google is concerned) - we are talking 10's of GB up to potentially 100s of GB.
4. The data will be updated a few times a day.
5. Perhaps my biggest goal is the following: I am trying to avoid having to build a traditional data warehouse with start-schema and ETL process. I have experience with these projects and they end-up being very costly, error-prone, hard to troubleshoot and rigid (hard to deploy changes). Instead I am hoping to just copy my OLTP tables to GCP and query them from there relying on GCP horse power.

I appreciate any feedback.

0 6 948
6 REPLIES 6

It sure feels like you are describing the Google BigQuery product offering.  If you search on "BigQuery" you'll find more references that you could ever want.  At the highest level, it's a SQL compliant analytics database optimized for queries.

@sql_guy if you want to get hands on with BigQuery, you can take the learning challenge

At our company we do the same, we use CloudSQL for the 'business data', i.e. things we want to store. But all the analytical stuff is done with BigQuery (BQ).

To make working with BQ easy, we load both 1) all user events into BQ and 2) overnight we also create/update some sort of aggregated view into BQ, based on our 'core' data from CloudSQL.

The latter makes it easier querying e.g. not only ID's of things, but also have the possibility to output e.g. a title of a 'thing', as you can easily join that information while having it at hand. Hope this helps!