Override more than one project in Dataform

Hi, to everyone

I am currently working on dataform creating a sql flow to create some tables in my dev environment. The thing is, I am working with two development Projects because each one of them has different audiences and properties. Everything is executing successfully.

The problem starts when I am pushing to production, I need to override these two development projects that I am working on, to the production projects

I am new at Dataform but I know that I'd have to create variables or

1 3 444
3 REPLIES 3

Dataform facilitates a structured approach to managing your development, testing, and production environments, enabling seamless transitions and clear separation between different stages of your data pipeline lifecycle:

• Development: Individual or team-based local environments, potentially involving multiple projects to cater to different audiences and setups.

• Staging (Optional): An intermediate environment to simulate production-like conditions for thorough testing before actual deployment.

• Production: The live environment where end-users interact with your data transformations, representing the final output of your development efforts.

Managing Project Overrides

To ensure smooth project transitions from development to production, consider the following strategies:

1. Environment Configuration in dataform.json:

• Utilize the environments configuration within your dataform.json to define environment-specific settings, including Google Cloud Project IDs for each stage (development, staging, production).

• This approach allows you to specify different schemas, datasets, and other configurations that vary between environments.

2. Environment-Specific Variables:

• Define variables for any settings that differ between environments, such as dataset names or table prefixes.

• Use these variables within your SQL scripts to dynamically reference environment-specific resources.

Example SQL Script: