Hi, Im Silver, I got my Architect, Network and Security Certs this year.

Hi Everyone,

I just found this community today, I had been working on my Cloud knowledge, and so far I got 3 certs

• GCP Professional Cloud Architect
  • GCP Professional Network Engineer
  • GCP Professional Security Engineer

I enjoyed the process and I'm still learning, I come from a software development background and recently I was working in DevOps for the last 4 years, and I like to continue learning. It has been always my intention to get a Cloud Architect Role, but I just wondering about the next steps.

What would you recommend to prepare for a Cloud Architect Role? All the advice is really appreciated.
Kind regards.

LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/silver-nunez/

Solved Solved
5 12 821
4 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

AndrewB
Community Manager
Community Manager

Welcome Silver! 👋 You can probably get some great practical advice from folks like @glen_yu@kumards  and  @omkarsuram_ here. 

Some resources that might help supplement your learning path are reading & watching Google Cloud's Architecture Framework, as well as diving deeper into the practice of FinOps.  

View solution in original post

Thank you Andrew!  😄 Curious to see what you think about my insight. 

[these are my personal opinions]

Cloud Architect role is very broad, I would emphasis to keep getting skilled on various tools and automations out there. As an architect you need to evaluate how do you enable customer/someone make an informed decision. 
eg: 99.999 reliability of creating a service a will cost you $XM but architecting it for 99% reliability would be $0.XM. you can do this for what Andrew mention for each pillar for architecture framework. rough frame. of thought. 

• What are the requirements 
  • Whats are available options (cost of each)
  • Does this increase Operating cost + burden?
  • What are the risks of choosing options
  • Short term recommendation vs long term etc etc..