Weekly Average by Monthly Average Ratio

Hi Guys,

I am new to Looker and have come across a requirement, where I need to display the weekly average users by monthly average ratio (on weekly basis). As the grain of the data is different, not sure how to calculate this ratio using table calculations.

I trying to achieve this by using the Activity date and active user count. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Karan

1 5 1,651
5 REPLIES 5

Hi @Karan_Veer_Sing,

If you need a quick and easy but less accurate solution, you can do so with 3 table calculations:

7DAU
mean(offset_list(${page_views.user_count},7,7))

30DAU
mean(offset_list(${page_views.user_count},30,30))

Ratio
${7dau}/${30dau}

This is not entirely accurate, as Looker Calcs won’t dedupe against users who were active on 2 or more days during the 7 or 30 days periods, it will count them twice.

If you want a more accurate method you can follow this guide:

[Analytic Block] Daily, Weekly, Monthly Active Users

About This Block Active Users is a common metric you can use to measure how customers are engaging with your product over different timeframes. In the Daily, Weekly, Monthly Active Users Analytical...

@zckymc Thank you for the solution. I am following the guide and will let you know how it goes.

Hi @zckymc, I followed the guide (had to modify it a bit to get it to work). Just one question, under Redshift code, in SQL for active_users view the following snippet is given:

WITH daily_use AS (
      -- ## 2 ) Create a table of days and activity by user_id
      SELECT
        user_id
        , DATE_TRUNC('day', created_at) as activity_date
      FROM orders
      GROUP BY 1, 2
    )
    --  ## 3) Cross join activity and dates to build a row for each user/date combo with
    -- days since last activity
    SELECT
          daily_use.user_id
        , wd.date as date
        , MIN(wd.date::date - daily_use.activity_date::date) as days_since_last_action
    FROM ${dates.SQL_TABLE_NAME} AS wd