How to use regex filter on string fields?

I’d like to filter on a string dimension where that dimension matches a particular regex.

For instance, in PostgreSQL, I would do it like so:

where
  my_field similar to '[0-9]{3}_[A-Z]{4}_[0-9]{3}'
1 6 14.2K
6 REPLIES 6

Ryan,

Great question and thanks for your contributions to the forum! While I am no regex expert, I did recently work on a project that required using them to filter and extract portions of server log entry lines stored in BigQuery. Some of the design seems applicable here.

For the filtering use case, I built a derived table that used the BQ function REGEXP_CONTAINS to filter the results (probably regexp_matches in Postgres and you may have a different regex syntax as well). For a static search using a regex it would look something like:

derived_table: {
    sql: SELECT … FROM ...
            WHERE REGEXP_CONTAINS(log_line, r".*/(.*\.jsp).*")  
;; }

This would filter for results containing .jsp in the log_line field. But, we want this to be a dynamic regex input that the user can type into a filter in the explore. To do so, we need to create a liquid parameter and then reference it in our WHERE clause in the derived table, like so:

sql: SELECT … FROM ...
            WHERE REGEXP_CONTAINS(log_line, {{ regexp_search._parameter_value }})  
;; }
  parameter: regexp_search {
    type: string
  }

The issue with this solution is that Looker is going to wrap the input text in quotes and escape backslash characters with additional backslashes in the _parameter_value, so we need to “fix” that before using it in the regexp function. The following worked for me:

sql:         
{% assign x = regexp_search._parameter_value.size | minus:2 %}
            SELECT ...            FROM ...
            WHERE REGEXP_CONTAINS(log_line, {{ regexp_search._parameter_value | slice: 1, x | replace: '\\', '\' }})
             ;; }