Question

Discrete row totals

• 31 January 2018
  • 7 replies

I am new to Looker so please forgive my ignorance. I’ve done a lot of searching and my own experimentation on trying to solve this issue before posting.

I have a series of dimensions that I want to make calculations on to create custom aggregations, as I cannot modify the underlying LookML model. I have a Date dimension, and I want each column to represent the count of rows for that date which match the criteria in the calculation.

For example, let’s say I have three dimensions

JoinDate

IsGirl

IsNewMember

On the left I want dates, unique and ordered sequentially.

I create a calculation for NewGirls

sum(if(${IsGirl} = “Y” AND ${IsNewMember} = “Y”, 1, 0))

I get the same value for all rows, for all dates. I only want the sum of rows that match that criteria for each of the dates.

My other issue is that my date values get duplicated… so i’ll have like ten rows that have the same date, and the same count. How would I go about removing duplicate rows like that?

7 replies

running_total gets me almost what I want… except it’s cumulative instead of discrete. I don’t see a non-cumulative total function… and sum like I said just sums for the entire dataset, instead of for each row.

Userlevel 1

Hey there @twilliamsgsnetx.

The reason we are seeing duplicate rows in your example is because, for each join_date, there are different values for the is_girl field and the is_new_member field per each individual date.

For example, this is what my explore looks like when I just select field created_date from my view/table Users:

We see each individual distinct date, i.e. no repeated dates. Let’s look at what happens when I select a Yes/No dimension IsFemale (yes for users that are female):