SSO Gives 401 in Chrome Incognito Window

PaulM1

I am unable to access any Looker resources in an Incognito window. I receive a 401 “not authenticated”. Looker login is a success (200) and returns a URL. But all Looker resources give a 401.

Is this simply a fact of SSO & incognito? Or is there a way to get SSO embed to work while incognito?

In a normal browser window, everything functions as expected. Unfortunately, I cannot test web browsers other than Chrome. The web app where Looker is embedded is only supported in Chrome.

Thank you

1 10 2,857
10 REPLIES 10

Hi @PaulM1 ,

Normally, this should work fine. Have you been able to connect with our DCL team about this, either via email or our chat widget? They are really experienced in helping with issues like these.

If you want some self-serve info, I did write this troubleshooting guide as well: https://fabio-looker.github.io/looker_sso_tool/sso-embed-troubleshooting.html

Hi @fabio1 

I am new to Looker embedding, and I created a signed sso url via API explorer. the generated embed URL does not work in incognito mode. how to connect to DCL team?

Hi @priyanath 

In general, customers can reach the right support team starting from https://help.looker.com/

If you have a process that is specifically failing in incognito mode, it may be due to cookie settings. In addition to the troubleshooting page I linked above, this page also has information about some common situations and fixes, such as custom domains to enable first party cookies - https://developers.looker.com/embed/troubleshooting/embed-auth-errors

Hi @fabio1 

I tuned on "allow 3rd party cookies" and it still fails. I am not sure what else could be the issue. 

thank you.

Hi Paul,

We are facing the same problem here.

The problem is related to cookie policy. The user has to configure the browser to allow third party cookies.