When you embed Looker to your website using Powered By Looker and you want your users to save content (i.e. looks, dashboards), they can do so by clicking on the cog in top-right corner & selecting the “Save as a Look” option from the drop down menu.
There are two spaces that an embed user has access to: a personal space and a shared space.
Users can choose which space to save content to, and give it a title and a brief description.
Once saved, you will see a notification:
Users also have the option to Schedule Looks/Dashboards in the embed environment. They can do this by clicking on the cog and selecting “Schedule” from the dropdown menu.
Users can also browse spaces in the embed environment. By clicking on the image of four squares beside the cog, users have options to go to personal, group or shared spaces. It is a very simple process which you can view below:
When the user has saved the content to the space that they have chosen, we can see this content by going to Looker instance, choosing the browse tab, and finding the appropriate space.
You can see the embed user’s personal space:
If the user has chosen to save it in the Group space, It would appear in Embed Groups space.
Only embed users can add content to these embed spaces. A regular user in the Looker application can’t add content to these spaces. However, if they have the appropriate permissions, they can manage (rename or delete) this content.
To save dashboards to Embed group space:
- When you build your look, you have to save you look into group space first.
- After you add that look to dashboard, it would be saved in group space too.
When you generate SSO embed URL you might want to consider giving user permissions:
Allows user to save and modify Looks and Dashboards
Enables the content browser (recommended for users who have the save_content permission)
Allows user to schedule Dashboards and Looks to be sent to their own email (which is set via a User Attribute named email) or to an email address that is within the limitations set by the Email Domain Whitelist (configurable on the main admin panel)
Allows user to schedule Dashboards and Looks to be sent to any email
Allows user to schedule Dashboards and Looks to an SFTP server
Allows user to schedule Dashboards and Looks to an Amazon S3 bucket
Allows user to schedule Dashboards and Looks to an arbitrary webhook
For more information about these roles and their dependencies see here