Question

Show this months total and the average months in the same chart

• 25 October 2018
  • 2 replies

I’m a complete newbie to Looker so please forgive if this is an obvious answer.

I am trying to show both the current months count of transactions and the average number of transactions in a month in the same chart broken down by customer.

I can get these two items in separate charts but want to know how to combine them into one chart.

This month

I display a count which I filter by last 1 month and pivot by customer to show me a list of customers with the number of transactions each.

Average month

I have a dimension that tells me how many months they have been a customer. I then do a count on how many transactions they have done in total with no filter on it. Then I do a table calculation to divide one by the other giving me the average transactions per month.

So the question is, how do I get them on the one chart so that I can see how many transactions they have done this month and how that compares to the monthly average on a per customer basis.

2 replies

Hey Jordan,

There are different ways to achieve what you are trying to do. From the setup you described I would suggest to create a new yesno dimension, which will confirm the current month and a filtered measure in the respective view.

They would look something like this:

dimension: current_month {

type: yesno

sql: EXTRACT(YEAR_MONTH FROM NOW())=EXTRACT(YEAR_MONTH FROM ${orders.created_raw}) ;;

}

measure: filtered_count {

type: count

filters: {

field: current_month

value: “Yes”

}

}