I have a LookML dashboard from which I want to hid the Explores - that is, I do not want dashboard users to explore the underlying model.
I added “hidden: yes” to the explore sections within the model. The explores have disappeared from the Explore menu as expected.
However, when I view the dashboard, the title of each query element still links to exploration of the model. How do I get rid of that link?
In order to limit the explore fields linked from the dashboard, you will need to create roles and permissions that will limit content access for the users in question. This documentation is particularly useful: https://docs.looker.com/admin-options/settings/roles.
Simply put, a group is a collection of Looker users. A role contains permissions and can be applied to either a user or a group.
You may want to assign the group who will be viewing this dashboard to the permission set of LookML dashboard users. This way, they will be able to view the dashboard in question but will not be able to explore further (as long as the “explore” permission is not selected).
That worked great, thanks. This permission set covers all activities of our dashboard users and keeps them out of the Explore machinery.