Adding a Data Refresh Date on Dashboad

Has anyone added a refresh date to your dashboards? I want to make it so that a user would notice it, but not a prominent piece of the dashboard. I’m new to looker, so I think so far I’ve just done some really obvious things, but my method doesn’t allow me to resize the tile as small as I’d like it to be.

Solved Solved
0 7 4,089
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

We have the same issue. Our ETL runs 4x an hour. So we’ve added this in a tile at the bottom of the dashboard. I doubt most users notice it, and not sure I would say it’s elegant but it works. 

23571e53-128a-4587-9ef8-3de12f11e653.png

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Hi @stuckeyam, would you want a specific tile in addition to the information that appears automatically next to the run button?

E.G. if the dashboard was just run it shows “just now”.

62f74819-1d86-4ffb-9ca5-376f37407a1d.png

If there is a field in the database that appears when the ETL occurs, you could add that as a single value vis tile. Another option may be to use a tile based on system activity, but the user running the dashboard would need the see_system_activity permission to view that information.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
Eric

Hey @Eric_Lyons, thanks for the response. The run time doesn’t really relate to our refresh timestamp because our ETL only runs nightly. We’ve added the “batch end timestamp” to a metadata view that we’re pulling in, but I just can’t figure out a good way to format it. I’ve tried the different tile options you’ve mentioned, but they all just look a bit odd in relationship to the dashboards they’re on.

Ideally I’d like something that’s obvious to a user so that we don’t have to constantly field answers, but it’s not so big that it takes over the dashboard.

Thanks,

Allison